RSS

Just Eating

07 Mar

I’ve been thinking about our Adult Sunday School class. It is stimulating, fun, thought-provoking. I especially think about it at breakfast for some reason. The class is a UCC curriculum called Just Eating John Reissen teaches it and he does an incredible job of pulling together lots of information while still keeping it manageable for the group.

Last week’s discussion got me thinking about locally grown food and how little of it I consume. Steve Klein mentioned in class the disconnect that Americans have with their food. We are disconnected from where our food originates (fish from South America, mangoes from India) and what has been done to it before we get it.

I’ve decided that today I’m going to track where my food comes from.

For breakfast I had a pumpkin- banana smoothie with soy milk. The pumpkin came from Oregon, the banana from Honduras, and the soy milk from somewhere in the midwestern United States.

Not bad…let’s see what lunch brings.

Any thoughts on where your food comes from?

20120308-102100.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
