RSS

Waiting

09 Mar

Ever feel like much of life is spent waiting? Today I am waiting on a contractor, waiting on the dryer to finish drying my clothes, waiting on Spring to truly arrive, waiting on the Resurrection. We all spend a good deal of our time in the game of waiting.

I wonder what Jesus waited on? His ministry to start? His disciples to “get it”? the end of his life? the coming of the Kingdom?

What did Jesus do while waiting? He healed and preached. He went into the desert to pray. He ate with friends and dreamed of a world where the reign of God was a reality. He waited and acted at the same time. He waited and listened to God. He waited and loved. We should wait with the urgency and patience of Jesus.

What are you waiting on?

20120309-181857.jpg
Moses and Maggie are waiting on a cookie.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Waiting

  1. Rodney Botts

    March 9, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    As they say patience is a virtue! It is good to wait. It builds expectation!

     
  2. Sandy Levins

    March 9, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Now that Kevin has his license and his own car I spend a lot less time waiting for him. With a 20 year difference between my oldest & youngest children, I have spent literally YEARS waiting in my car to pick up one of my kids from some activity or another. I spend a lot of time waiting in my car for a train to pass so I can get to work (or home from work). I have learned to keep a Sudoku book in my car so my waiting time is used to stimulate my brain.

     
  3. John Helt

    March 9, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    Jane

    Thanks for this KOOL new blog! I have been waiting for it!

    My most recent big wait was Mom’s death. I may sort some of that out by Advent, when I can maybe reflect on it in some helpful way… at least helpful to me. I am a terrible waiter. I have never known what to do with the psalm (130): “My soul waits for the Lord more than those who watch for the morning.”

    Cindy and I were in a furniture store recently where I went directly to a comfy sofa and fell asleep. She had me paged a half hour later because she couldn’t find me. If sleeping counts, I may be a better waiter than I give myself credit for.

    A watched kettle never boils.

    John Helt

     
    • Ken Plattner

      July 11, 2012 at 3:37 am

      Jane,
      I am an old friend of John Helt. When he and Cindy were at Eden, I was there studying at the same time. I see he made a post on your blog. Can you help me get his email address? He once gave me a pipe that he purchased while visiting the spiritual communities of Scotland. That was in 1978, and I just smoked that pipe this morning… It made me want to look him up. I’d appreciate your help.
      Kenneth Plattner
      Roquebrun, France
      Kenplattner.fr@gmail.com
      http://www.,kenplattner.com

       
  4. Cindy Johnson

    March 10, 2012 at 3:12 am

    I’m waiting to see Maggie and Moses again. And Don!

     
  5. Kathleen Morrish

    March 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    A great writing on this topic is actually a childrens book by Dr. Seuss called “The Waiting Place.” It’s humorous but insightful about how we can all get STUCK waiting. Great read for adults too!

     
    • John Helt

      March 12, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      Kathy
      you are among the Zion saints whose kindness to my mother made our waiting bearable. Thank you.
      John Helt

       
  6. Kathleen Morrish

    March 10, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    PS- meaning we often don’t make full use of the present .

     

Leave a Reply

 
