RSS

The Joy of Spinning

13 Mar

Two weeks ago I started spinning. I had been deep in mourning for several weeks over an agonizing decision to stop running. With nowhere to turn for a rigorous workout,

20120313-130559.jpg

Lined up to spin.

I tentatively tried out the spin class at the Burlington YMCA-YWCA.To my great surprise, I loved it.

For the past three years, I had been inspired as a runner by Lyle Gibson (Lyle could make anyone fall in love with running). But a torn meniscus in my right knee, and the advice of two orthopedic surgeons, led me to the decision to find a new exercise. Yet, I felt disheartened—not only did I lose a fabulous way to stay fit, but also my identity as a runner.

20120313-130417.jpg

A Keiser bike.

I had often heard the word “spinning” but never really knew what it meant. Spinning is sort of like a stationary bike (which I have always hated) but not really– it is much more cool. The bikes at the Y are Keiser bikes.

Spinning takes place in an exercise studio (also known as the room at the end of the hall at the Y) with a bunch of bikes lined up in rows, and an instructor on a bike facing everyone yelling out orders. You can make your workout harder or easier by changing gears up or down.

As you can imagine, “up” is for climbing up a hill. Our instructor will yell out “two gears up” and then the RPM’s at which you should be pedaling. The nice thing about stationary bikes is that no matter how slow you go, you never get left behind.

Why I like spinning:

1) Other people do it with me (I’m a social exerciser)
2) I have an instructor (I like attention)
3) The weather never lets you down (the downside is that you never have an excuse to NOT work out)
4) It’s low impact (not so hard on one’s joints)
5) Very rigorous work out!
6) The shorts are cute.

We have lots of Zion members that exercise everyday—everything from yoga to Zumba to boxing.

What exercise do you do? Why and when do you exercise? Any advice for someone who might want to get started?

Leave comment. I’m interested!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Blogging With Jane

 

Tags:

5 responses to “The Joy of Spinning

  1. Keith

    March 13, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Spinning is for cold weather and heavy rain. Now that the weather is improving, get a nice road bike and ride outside. It’s much more fun. Bike Burlington has several group rides at all levels to choose from. Join the club and its yahoo site.

     
  2. bill daws

    March 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    If just starting, start slow and work your way up especially if you have health problems. Whatever you do now do more. Walking and biking are easier on joints but swimming is best of all. the bouyancy reduces the impact of gravity but the resistance of the water increases the work.

     
  3. Don lutz

    March 13, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I’ve lost ten pounds so far since we started the “Y” program. Slow and steady pays off! I’ll never be a Lyle Gibson….but who can be! 🙂

     
  4. Gail Lawlor

    March 14, 2012 at 12:50 am

    I go outside and walk about two miles several times a week. I began walking years ago on the advise of my therapist. He said that it would benefit my emotional health. I’ve been walking ever since.
    As far as getting started, the best advice I have is, “Just do it.” And, keep doing it. Make it a habit.

     
  5. Jackie Welch

    March 14, 2012 at 1:04 am

    One of the trainers at GRMC says “fake it til you make it”. Which means to commit and embrace your exercise program until you can’t live without it. For old orthopedic, arthritic wrecks like me the warm water pool at the rehab center is great. I can even do a little Zumba in the water!

     

Leave a Reply

 
