RSS

Early Morning

15 Mar

Do you have an early morning routine? I am sitting here in the kitchen enjoying my routine–having my first cup of coffee, emailing my two close friends (Anne and Jane) who live on the East coast, and watching the birds at the feeder. I also read the Huffington Post each morning. While I do all this, I drink a smoothie. Today I am drinking a favorite– arugula, carrot, banana and soy milk. Check out these recipes .

Prayer or meditation can fit nicely into a morning routine. It can be quick and a part of what we are already doing and can remind us of our connection to God. If you haven’t already established a morning prayer or meditation routine here is a good one to start with.  UCC daily devotional

I’m better at making coffee and emailing than I am at morning prayer, so I am going to commit to doing the daily devotional every day for a week. Anyone want to commit with me?

20120315-083009.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in Blogging With Jane

 

7 responses to “Early Morning

  1. Rich Pleva

    March 15, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Arugula, carrot, banana and soy milk? You lost me there!!! 🙂

     
  2. janewillan

    March 15, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Don won’t drink it although he does love pumpkin, soy milk, banana, and cinnamon.

     
  3. Sharon Thye

    March 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    Do you buy something already prepared or do you put all ingredients in juicer and make yourself?

     
    • janewillan

      March 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      No, I don’t like the “smoothie packets”; they are high in calories and costly. I buy everything fresh from HyVee.

       
  4. Robyn Thomas

    March 15, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    That looks like my breakfast! Usually our smoothie features fresh kale or spinach, fresh carrots and any combination of frozen fruit, soy yoghurt, ginger, chia seed and ground flax seed. I drink some at breakfast and while making dinner. Enno takes a thermos for his lunch (and our internist commented today how good his BP is looking) and the boys each drink a cup before dinner…that’s how I get the veg into them both.

     
    • janewillan

      March 15, 2012 at 5:38 pm

      It’s a great way to get enough fruits and veggies. I like the idea of using ginger; I’ll have to try it. the other thing I like about smoothies is the vibrant color–such as a smoothie with beets. or with pumpkin.

       
  5. Jim Wagner

    March 16, 2012 at 8:28 am

    I’ve been haphazardly reading the UCC devotionals for about a year, so I’ll commit to a daily devotional time for at least a week. Of course, I’ll have to get up a bit earlier and make some other changes to my morning routine, but isn’t that what Lent is about?

     

Leave a Reply

 
