RSS

God, the Church, and My Busy Day

16 Mar

The UCC daily devotional spoke to me this morning.
The misconception that God needs me more than I need God is interesting. I am constantly feeling that I need to be doing at the church– get this program up and running, call that person, schedule these meetings, etc. etc. As if the church and God need me when it is really me who needs the church and God. I think I will go through my day today focusing on God and church in a different way– not from the perspective of being needed, but rather being in need.

20120316-091002.jpg

Coffee and prayer — a nice way to start the day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in Blogging With Jane

 

Tags:

2 responses to “God, the Church, and My Busy Day

  1. Gail Lawlor

    March 16, 2012 at 8:37 am

    I think we all need reminders that it is not all about us. I know that I do. In the EA program, they teach that the effort is ours, but the results are God’s. That puts things in perspective for me. I take care of what I can take care of, then let go and let God take care of the rest.

     
  2. John Helt

    March 16, 2012 at 8:54 am

    I have struggled with this for 35 years myself! I say ministry is about “being” rather than “doing” and that theology is about the grace of God more than my good works, but when I stop to examine what’s going on, I am all about “doing and works.”

    My first reaction to your comments, Jane, was “slow down and stop and smell the roses,” and then I thought about how attentive you were to my mother and how you added multiple visits to Rosebush to your already hectic schedule, and my reaction changed to: “Thank God for your diligence and hard work!” I suppose I have gradually become less obsessive and more strategic about doing those things that I apparently believe God “needs” me to do!

     

Leave a Reply

 
