RSS

Needle in a Haystack

26 Mar

The good news is–we found my glasses. The bad news is –we found them when Don stepped on them.

We were driving back from Des Moines very early Sunday morning. It was foggy and still a little dark when we pulled over in a remote spot somewhere between Pella and Mount Pleasant(a lot of desolate distance there). Both dogs needed out of the car so we stopped for just a moment, let them run into the nearby field, and within a few minutes were back in the car heading towards Burlington. About 30 minutes later, I realized my glasses were gone. After several minutes spent frantically searching the car, we reluctantly concluded that I must have dropped them when we stopped for the dogs. The problem became, where exactly did we stop?

We continued on to Burlington arriving at Zion in plenty of time for John’s stimulating Sunday School class, “Just Eating” and for me to find an old pair of readers stashed in my desk. The worship service was filled with energy–the choir inspired us with Tim’s solo of the Beatles song, Yesterday. The new members of the bell choir swelled their ranks and the bells played beautifully. But for me the fact remained–my new expensive glasses were gone.

That afternoon Don and I headed back out knowing that on the side of the road, somewhere between Pella and Mount Pleasant, lay a pair of glasses. The glasses were green and brown, by the way. Green and brown just like the field where I dropped them.

But the real question remained–what field?

After several false attempts we finally located what we believed to be the exact spot. Yet, after careful searching, still no glasses. The sun was setting and it was time to give up. And then Don heard it. A crunch. There they were. On the side of the road, somewhere between Pella and Mount Pleasant, under Don’s shoe.

With uncharacteristic luck, my vision insurance covers broken glasses; it doesn’t cover glasses that one drops and never finds again. And, if you think about it, we probably wouldn’t have found my green and brown glasses in the green and brown field if Don hadn’t actually stepped on them.

When Jesus said “seek and you shall find” did he really mean, “sometimes you have to step on something before you know it’s there.” Or maybe he meant, “you have to be really persistent in your seeking.” Persistent to the point that you will drive across the Iowa landscape seeking a needle in a haystack (a pair of glasses somewhere along a 100 mile stretch of highway 34).

Lent is nearly over. Did you find what you were seeking? Or are you still waiting to hear the crunch?

See You in the Pews!

jane

20120326-103521.jpg

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Blogging With Jane

 

6 responses to “Needle in a Haystack

  1. Sandy Levins

    March 26, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    What a story! I probably would have given up & not gone back to search, opting for a nap instead…

     
  2. Peggy

    March 26, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    love this insight, no pun intended. thanks for your blog.

     
  3. Barbara Nelson-Botts

    March 26, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    IF EVER I SHOULD MISPLACE MY GLASSES OR ANYTHING ON THE FLOOR JANE DO REMIND ME NOT TO ENLIST HEAVY FOOTED DON. AGAIN JANE I OFFER YOU A DRAWER OF GLASSES CHAINS. THERE ARE SEVERAL STYLES TO CHOSE FROM SO YOU CAN ALWAYS BE STYLISH AND HAVE YOUR GLASSES NEAR YOUR HEART AND NOT SOMEWHERE IN THE UNKNOWN. HOW IS IT YOU DID NOT HAVE THOSE BLOOD HOUNDS OF YOURS SEARCHING THE FIELD ? I WOULD HAVE PUT MY FAITH IN MOSEY. BARB

     
  4. Cindy Johnson

    March 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Amazing story. And yes, I believe that sometimes following Jesus means stepping on and crushing pre-conceived ideas and Nolan’s.

     
  5. Jackie

    March 26, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    This exceeds my expectations of your tales! Like Sandy I would never have gone back. But I have a not quite so dramatic story to tell of my shopping adventure with Caroline after church. We went to Younkers on a mission to buy a baby gift but you know how girls are, we thought we needed a new purse. Caroline found a $69 number she needed…..not! But I was seriously looking, trying to downsize for weight but find one big enough to hold iPad when traveling .

    So I tried out a few, placing my phone and wallet to see about the room. Then once decided I took the new purse with me and we proceeded to baby shop. And 45 minutes later we were in the car heading to Target when I decided to call Jill. NO SMART PHONE!! My life is on that phone!

    So, Caroline and I headed back to Younkers going directly to purses. I thought I’d find a clerk and have her dial my number, but of course I silenced in church. Then to my pleasant surprise the very first purse I checked, of all the purses we had touched, had my phone in the side pocket . So, I too experienced Seek and ye shall find, and my phone was no worse for the wear.
    Now Dick can’t believe I’m sharing. He sees how you lost your glasses but he totally doesn’t understand how I could’ve left my phone. He has no ” insight” into girls shopping, and he also has no faith in “seek and ye shall find”.

     
  6. John

    March 27, 2012 at 8:58 am

    It was good the mowing hadn’t been done yet, as far as the condition of the glasses was concerned. If where you lost them was not too far off the US 34 traffic, you may have made a “spectacle” of your search.

     

Leave a Reply

 
