RSS

“Our Hopes and Fears Are Met in Thee Tonight”

15 Dec

I want to respond somehow to the unspeakable tragedy in Connecticut yesterday; yet, I find I have few words. All I can say is this– gather with those you love and together pray for the parents and grandparents of the children who died. Pray for the brother of the boy who killed them. Pray for the teachers and students who will someday walk through the halls of their school again.

It is still Advent. Remember the coming of the Christ child. Remind yourself of the hope he brings to the world.

Pastor Jane

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2012 in Blogging With Jane

 

4 responses to ““Our Hopes and Fears Are Met in Thee Tonight”

  1. Joy Lawler

    December 15, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Jane,
    That’s the hymn that struck me, too, in all of this. Something about “New Town” and the “Little Town of Bethlehem. I’m the elder tomorrow, and I’ve written my call to offering about all of this. I’ll post it on FB after church. Please read it and tell me what you think. Blessings for the day…

     
    • janewillan

      December 15, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      I would like to read it. I need some help for tomorrow myself.

       
  2. Kathleen Morrish

    December 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

    there is always a ‘duality’ to Christmas, the flip side of joy, a time we recall losses also- but never like this one. This country’s ownership of semiautomatic personal firearms is where my fears lie this season. My hope is that both sides of the aisle in Washington can come together on this- even if they seem unable to for anything else.

     

Leave a Reply

 
