RSS

A Holy Week Meditation: Monday

25 Mar

 

Christ in Bethany (Pugin)

Christ in Bethany (Pugin) (Photo credit: Lawrence OP)

In you, O Lord, I take refuge; let me never be put to shame. In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; incline your ear to me and save me. Be to me a rock of refuge, a strong fortress, to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress. Rescue me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked, from the grasp of the unjust and cruel. Psalm 71

I always tell my unchurched friends (who respect what I do for a living, but don’t quite understand it) that Holy Week is my Big Week.  Then I add as though only I know just how funny I am “it’s Jesus Big Week too.” In my defense, for a parish minister, Holy Week truly is The Big Week.  But this particular Holy Week is bigger than usual.  As we follow Jesus to the cross and then to the empty tomb, we follow the United States Supreme Court in its own version of death and resurrection.   On Tuesday, the court will hear arguments considering the constitutionality of California’s gay marriage ban, Proposition 8. The next day, the court will hear arguments challenging the constitutionality of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA).

The timing of these two cases could not have been better. They remind us that Holy Week is about justice.  Jesus was executed because he stood up for the oppressed and defended the disenfranchised.  If Jesus had not challenged the religious leaders, if he had not questioned the social order, he probably would have died quietly of old age.  Instead he died on a cross.  Not for our sins, but because of our sins. This Holy Week, we will watch and wait to see if our own country will make right a long held injustice—the denial of marriage to our gay brothers and sisters. 

Let us pray for the death of an old order and the resurrection of what is new and good.

May Your Week be Holy,

Pastor Jane

(look for a meditation from Pastor Jane everyday this week)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Blogging With Jane

 

4 responses to “A Holy Week Meditation: Monday

  1. John

    March 26, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Es ist mir nicht ganz klar warum ein Leser auf deutsch schreiben will, und ertwartet viele andere Leser von Janes Blog zu verstehen. Was hat dieser Blog mit Bibelstudenten in Belgian zu tun?

     
  2. John

    March 28, 2013 at 6:31 am

    As in the first century, it is difficult for the privileged to give up their privilege, it is good of you to point out that Jesus’ big week demonstrated willingness to give his all in securing justice and standing up for the oppresse…but we mostly say the words, and don’t see that it means standing up to other human perpetrators. With Prop 8 and DOMA we see the efforts using the legal system, moving on toward justice–slowly but definitely ultimately there…so much so, that the new and young can not even comprehend the “stodgy” old who have accepted living with privilege.

     
  3. John

    April 2, 2013 at 6:21 am

    How timely that the current issue of Tme magazine–and the first issue after the first full moon following the vernal equinox–carries on the cover a photo of two same-sex lovers, and the caption: “GAY MARRIAGE ALREADY WON,” and a major article. Yes, Christ’s death and resurrection is all about justice!p

     

Leave a Reply

 
